Northcott - Proposition 3 - Inductive Systems Maximal Elements are Prime Ideals

In summary, In the book Lessons on Rings and Modules and Multiplicities by D.G. Northcott, in Chapter 2, Proposition 3 is presented along with its proof. In the proof, there is a statement that all the maximal elements of $\Omega$ are prime ideals. The author goes on to use this statement to prove the proposition. However, the reader, Peter, does not understand why it follows that the ideal $C$ meets the set $S$. After further explanation and clarification, it is understood that since $P$ is maximal in the set of ideals that do not intersect $S$ and $C$ properly contains $P$, $C$ cannot be in $\Omega$ and must intersect $S$.
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I am reading D.G. Northcott's book: Lessons on Rings and Modules and Multiplicities.

I am currently studying Chapter 2: Prime Ideals and Primary Submodules.

I need help with an aspect of the proof Proposition 3 in Chapter 2 concerning the demonstration that all the maximal elements of \(\displaystyle \Omega\) are prime ideals.Proposition 3 and its proof read as follows:

https://www.physicsforums.com/attachments/3714
https://www.physicsforums.com/attachments/3715

In Northcott's proof above, we read the following:

" ... ... Let \(\displaystyle C\) consist of all elements that can be expressed in the form \(\displaystyle r \alpha + \pi\) where \(\displaystyle r \in R\) and \(\displaystyle \pi \in P\). It is a simple matter to check that \(\displaystyle C\) is an ideal containing \(\displaystyle P\). Indeed, since \(\displaystyle \alpha = 1 \alpha + 0\), \(\displaystyle \alpha \in C\) and therefore C strictly contains P. However P is maximal in \(\displaystyle \Omega\). It therefore follows that \(\displaystyle C\) meets \(\displaystyle S\). ... ... "

I do not fully understand why, in the above argument, it follows that \(\displaystyle C\) meets \(\displaystyle S\).