Nonlinear optics: second harmonic generation

In summary, the author discusses how nonlinear optics is done in the wave picture and how quantum mechanics is necessary to understand the full picture. He goes on to say that it is hard to qualitatively depict the subject and that one needs to understand the energy in and energy out terms as well as the momentum in and momentum out.
eliotsbowe
Hello, I'm studying basic nonlinear optics and I would like to solve a couple doubts about (basic) photon interaction.
Let a monocromatic (of frequency ω) electromagnetic field propagate through a nonlinear medium and let the third(and higher)-order terms in the relation between the polarization density P and the electric field E be negligible.
I've read* that the second harmonic generation is based on two photons of frequency ω combining to produce a photon of frequency 2ω.
I would like to understand the practical meaning of "combining" in this context: perhaps it's like "colliding"?

May anyone help me?

Thanks in advance.
*Saleh, Teich - "Foundamentals of Photonics"

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
eliotsbowe said:
Hello, I'm studying basic nonlinear optics and I would like to solve a couple doubts about (basic) photon interaction.
Basic nonlinear optics is done in the wave picture because it deals with coherent high-intensity radiation. Here and there, some handwaving photon illustrations are used but to really understand what goes on in the photon picture requires quantum optics.

Boyd's "Nonlinear Optics" is a good book which goes into the quantum mechanical details but I think he too doesn't talk in-depth about the photon picture and is more concerned with things like deriving the susceptibilities from first principles, etc.

Well, thanks for the tip, I'll check that book out. I kind of figured out that the subject is really hard to qualitatively depict.

The photon picture is easy: energy in = energy out, and momentum in = momentum out (phase matching condition).