Non-Linear optics vs The 2nd Law of Thermodynamics

In summary, the experiment results in the ball getting colder due to the 2nd law of thermodynamics being circumvented.
hmmm27
Gold Member
Hi, rank newbie here, with my first post.

This one is something I figure every first year student comes up with at some point, but I don't know enough keywords to Search for an answer. (I'm not a student except in the category "of life": this isn't assigned homework)

I figger, using a bit of non-linear optics, the 2nd law of Thermodynamics can be circumvented. Obviously this isn't true, so let's take a looksee...

---

Let's start with definitions, simplified for clarity.

Temperature - overall power emission per areal unit.

Black Body - absorbs all radiation, emits a predefined spectrum, related directly to power, with some non-sequitur to the experiment formula.

Fluorescer - transforms a certain input range of frequencies into a certain output range. Basically, when photons are absorbed, a bit of internal heat is produced and lower frequency photons emitted.

Bandpass mirror - passes only a certain frequency range, reflects the rest.

----

Next, the components of the device, also simplified, also for clarity...

- A black-body ball, partially painted with a fluorescer (polkadots or stripes, your pick).

- A bandpass mirror sphere, larger than the ball.

Required is that the fluorescence output be the same frequency as the mirror's bandpass.

----

And conduct the experiment...

Within an environment of a non-specified BB background radiation temperature...

Place the ball within the sphere.

That's it.

----

What happens...

First let's backtrack a bit and compare the spectra of environment and ball before the experiment starts. Both integrate the same - the power outputs/temperatures are identical - but the spectra are different. While the environment spectrum is strictly BBR, the ball's spectrum should look like a spike was added to a lower-temperature BBR.