Newbie to LaTeX: Is MacTeX Good for Beginners?

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of LaTeX typesetting for creating a pdf on a mac. The speaker recommends MacTeX, as it includes various tools and can even be used for making Feynman diagrams and slides. They also suggest using Latexit for producing mathematical equations for presentations. A question is raised for recommendations for drawing Feynman diagrams and producing slides on a Windows machine, using TeXniCenter and MikTeX.
Diffy
I am new to LaTeX typesetting, I have used it in this forum but I would like to use it to create a pdf. I use a mac, and I came across MacTeX from a google search. Can anyone validate this, is it good for beginners?

Thanks,

Physics news on Phys.org
Diffy said:
I am new to LaTeX typesetting, I have used it in this forum but I would like to use it to create a pdf. I use a mac, and I came across MacTeX from a google search. Can anyone validate this, is it good for beginners?

Thanks,

It's quite nice for typing latex.
It contains various tools you need.
(maybe you don't need some of them at the beginning)
With the help of other auxiliary tools,
you can even make Feynamn diagrams, or producing slides.
BTW, I recommend you to use latexit also,
it can produce the mathematical equations to be used in keynotes,
in terms of Tex.

Seconded. MacTeX (or even just TeXShop) is a great package for LaTeX.

ismaili said:
It's quite nice for typing latex.
It contains various tools you need.
(maybe you don't need some of them at the beginning)
With the help of other auxiliary tools,
you can even make Feynamn diagrams, or producing slides.
BTW, I recommend you to use latexit also,
it can produce the mathematical equations to be used in keynotes,
in terms of Tex.

Can someone make recommendations for drawing feynman diagrams and making slides on a Windows machine (I am presently using TeXniCenter together with MikTeX)

Related to Newbie to LaTeX: Is MacTeX Good for Beginners?