New to Spectroscopy? Let's Connect and Exchange Ideas!

In summary: With a spectrometer, you can measure the concentration of a particular compound in a sample and you can also measure the area under the curve of the chromatogram for that compound.
manoj srinivasan
hi friends,
I am new to this forum and to this domain as well,i am basically a networking/IT guy, i am looking to do some
project which is involving spectroscopy to find chemical composition in different elements.

As i am new to this domain,i don't know how i can find a friend/guide probably some one with good knowledge in physics to guide me or just to get a few words of positive advice from him.

if anyone is interested to help me kindly let me know here,all i want is talk to someone and want to be inspired.

Physics news on Phys.org
manoj srinivasan said:
hi friends,
I am new to this forum and to this domain as well,i am basically a networking/IT guy, i am looking to do some
project which is involving spectroscopy to find chemical composition in different elements.

As i am new to this domain,i don't know how i can find a friend/guide probably some one with good knowledge in physics to guide me or just to get a few words of positive advice from him.

if anyone is interested to help me kindly let me know here,all i want is talk to someone and want to be inspired.

There are different fields of spectroscopy and different people tend to have different areas of specialty. FTIR is different from mass spec is different from spectrophotometer is different from laser spectroscopy. Different kinds of chromatography are a different deal altogether as is NMR.

You might get better input if you provide a better definition of what you are trying to accomplish and what kind of spectroscopy you have in mind.

Likes Ben Espen
.I am looking to analyse
The chemical composition of various food items to be precise.any more useful tips about how I can start or how I can find anyone who can help ?

user_online.gif