Neuroscience, complete newbie about it, one of my interests too (ironicly)

In summary, I think that the job title "Neuroscientist" is a vague term and can be sort of like engineering. It is helpful to study biology in order to have a foundation so that you can understand the brain and its functions. However, there are many different types of neuroscience and you should be interested in what is happening at the molecular level. I think that it would be fun to perform research on numerous animals and to study the brain at the molecular level.
Raizy
Yes, I know I can easily google this... but forums is more fun :smile:

Is the job title "Neuroscientist" a vague term, is it sort of like engineering? What type of engineer? How would I get started about researching the brain? Job prospects? Is it like psychology, that if you only had a bachelors, then you can't do "real" psychology work?

I am a bit concerned though, and that is I have never studied biology. I am not sure how one would study this. I can't say it's simple rote memorization as I've seen someone mention here before that if you end up being able to rote memorize your way through a biology course, then the tests and assignments were poorly designed.

Here is what I've noticed about myself.

Primary interest as of now: Robotics. I definitely don't mind slugging hours spending time on math homework. Time flies. There is not enough time, as opposed to "this is taking too long". I like the stimulation I feel when I need to solve a word problem.