Need Help Solving Physics Practice Problems

In summary: I have d=14.67(ft/sec)t+4.2 and for the other runner I have d=1/2at^2. I'm not sure on these. That's all I have.Not quite. For t<2 what does the graph of velocity vs time look like for the second runner? What is the area under the graph for that part? What does the graph look like for t>=2? The area under the graph for t<=2 is going to be smaller than the area under the graph for t>=2 because the fast runner has been moving for a shorter time. The area
mcr
Hi,
I'm new at this and I need some help with the following practice problems:

1) At what angle relative to the horizontal must an object be
launched if its minimum velocity in flight is 28% of its launch
velocity? The answer is to be in degrees. I have the answer to be 73.7.

2) During a footrace, a fast runner runs at a 6 min/mi pace, and a
slow runner runs at a 7 min/mi pace. The fast runner passes the slow
runner. After a 2 sec delay, the slow runner initiates an acceleration,
catching up with the fast runner in 968 ft. What is this acceleration?
The answer is to be in ft/sec^2 and the answer is .0798.

I'm confused on both and don't know how to get started.

Physics news on Phys.org
welcome to pf!

hi mcr! welcome to pf! :wink:
mcr said:

yup! :smile:

write two equations, one for each runner, both starting at the time that they are level

(so the second one will have constant speed for t ≤ 2, and https://www.physicsforums.com/library.php?do=view_item&itemid=204" for t > 2 :wink:)

Last edited by a moderator:
mcr said:
Hi,
I'm new at this and I need some help with the following practice problems:

What is the condition for minimum total velocity? (hint: does the horizontal velocity change during flight - ignoring air resistance -?)

Convert the speeds into feet/sec. Draw a graph of speed vs. time for each runner starting at the moment the fast runner passes. What does the area under the graph represent?