Need advice in choosing PhD topics, combination of physics and computer science

In summary: Hi there,I've just registered and I'm wondering if there is a place where I could find some advice on choosing a research field. I'm a physics graduate and I'm wondering if I should do a PhD in computer science or astrophysics. I'm not sure if it's the right choice and I'm not sure if the right research is available in either field.In summary, Greg is a newbie who is unsure of which research field to focus on. He is facing the dilemma of whether to do a PhD in computer science or astrophysics. He does not know if the research available in either field is the right choice for him.
leoneri
Hi all, I am just joined, so I am new here.

I have a bachelor in Physics, and master in Telecommunication management. I have few years working in ICT projects doing varied stuff start from programming and network design. However, I did not feel satisfied with this kind of work. Since I can't throw away my passion on fundamental research. So I decide that I want to do a PhD.

Currently I am facing an opportunity to do PhD research in a Radio-Astronomy institution. However, I still cannot decide, should I focus on the computer science aspect or the Physics/astronomy aspect. I have a thought to do research on applying Quantum computing for astronomical research, but I still do not have a clue on this subject, let alone whether this is make sense or not. I do not want to become a laughing stock when I submit my research proposal ... :)

I hope anybody here could give me an advice. Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Greg, thanks for welcoming me.

Usually in a forum, there is a special sub-forum for newbie introduction, but can't found it on this forum.

This may sound obvious, but shouldn't you be directing this question to your Ph.D supervisor?