Need a suggestion for an assignment on fiber optics.

In summary, the conversation is about a physics student in their second year of university who is completing a course on Electromagnetism and Optics. They have passed their final exam and are now working on a project on fiber optics. They are looking for interesting problems to address and mention their interest in measuring sound using fiber optics in medical applications. Three possible examples are given, including the use of fiber optics for measuring ultrasound fields produced by medical equipment, absolute pressure measurement in medical instruments, and a heart sound sensing device for use with medical diagnostic devices.
tsuwal
I am finishing a course on Eletromagnetism and Optics. I am currently a physics student in the second year of university. I passed the final exam and now I'm supposed to do a work on fiber optics. Do you know any interesting problem that i could adress? It can be a hard one, I am supposed to write up to 15 pages so be at easy when making suggestions. I don't have any idea what I am going to write about yet..

Science news on Phys.org
Since I spent ~25 years in underwater acoustics I’m slightly partial to measuring sound. Here are three examples using fiber optics to measure acoustic signals, all related to medical applications:

ULTRASONIC FIBRE OPTIC-HYDROPHONE - uFOHS
a specific application is the in situ measurement of ultrasound fields produced by diagnostic and therapeutic medical ultrasound equipment.
http://www.medphys.ucl.ac.uk/research/mle/fibre_optic.htm

Fiber Optic Probe Hydrophone FOPH 500
A great number of possible applications are in the medical field, in general ultrasonic calibration and measurement as well as in technical ultrasonic equipment:
Absolute pressure measurement in the focus and the extended wave field of medical instruments for extracorporal shock wave lithotripsy, e.g. for the destruction of kidney and gall stones.