Nearly accepted onto Fulbright S&T, what's my next step?

• Thread starter CaptainDK
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is a physics student from Imperial College London who applied for the Fulbright Science & Technology award but did not pass the screening committee in Washington. They are considering either applying for a PhD in America without the award or taking a masters course in Brazil and reapplying for the Fulbright award next year. They are seeking advice on which option would be more beneficial for their future goals.
CaptainDK
Hey Guys,

I am a physics student from Imperial College London, graduating with a first class MSci. I want to go to America to do a PhD, and had applied to the Fulbright commission for their Science and Technology award. I was put through as one of the UK's nominees but found out recently that I didn't pass the screening committee in Washington (though I'm not 100% what that means, other than being out of the race). In the email I got from the UK commission telling me of this, they suggest the reason for this is that I was lacking experience:

" We do hope that you will consider reapplying next year, as we feel that with another year’s experience you would come back as a significantly stronger candidate. We will be seeking additional feedback from the screening committee in Washington, but it may be some time before that comes through.

Please do let me know if you have any questions or would like to discuss this. Again, I sincerely hope you will consider coming back to us next spring…"

So I see myself with 2 options: Apply to America for a PhD starting next year and say to hell with Fulbright, or find a masters degree for this year and apply to Fulbright next year?