Nanotechnology Engineering: Math Skills Needed?

• Thread starter !Live_4Ever!
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineering
In summary, the conversation discusses the necessary mathematical skills for a career in nanotechnology engineering. The speaker is concerned about their level of math proficiency, but is reassured that dedication and hard work can make up for not being a mathematical genius. The relevance of physics and chemistry to the field is also mentioned, as well as the importance of being able to apply mathematics to real-world problems.
!Live_4Ever!
Hi, I'm a grade 12 student aspiring to be a nanotechnology engineer.

I was wondering whether I need super strong math skills in that field. I'm good in math, but I'm not like sparkling brilliant in math. I get low~mid 90s on school, participate in math contests, etc, but I'm not the kind of person whose brains are wired mathematically.

I was wondering if an engineer needs to have strong mathematical talent. I'm relatively strong in physics, and pretty good in chemistry. (But I can't stand anything related to biology though)

Physics news on Phys.org
You don't have to be a genius in math to be an engineer, or anything for that matter. All you need is the dedication to learn what you need to know. Low-Mid 90s isn't bad at all?

Hard work, study groups, office hours, and mountains of time will get you through most college math courses. A knack for math never hurts, but you don't need to be some savant - just willing to put in however much work it takes to get things done. (The most important math ability for engineering is probably learning to take a real-world problem and simplify it to a mathematical model, otherwise knowing how to define and set up the problem.)

The physics and chemistry are strongly relevant. A lot of nanotech work is being done that applies to biological/medical topics, though...explain "can't stand"? (OTOH, plenty of it doesn't.)