My dream not realized, and I am falling down a deep cliff.

• Thread starter poutin
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Falling
In summary, the person is a college freshman struggling with deciding on a major, feeling discouraged by their grades, and worrying about their future in grad school. They have talked to their instructor and are considering exploring other areas of math. The person is also concerned about the competitiveness of grad school and the lack of funding for direct PhD entries in Canada. However, they are reminded that grades do not define their potential and that college is not like high school where they were one of the top students.
poutin
Just in case you are wondering, the "I am falling down a deep cliff" was something I got from "The Catcher in the Rye", I hope I used it correctly in my problem.

Background on Problem

I am a college freshman this fall and I am face with an undecided decision (that was very wordy). I have always been passionate about Math, but only until last year did I really look at Math differently.

In late May of 2010, I wrote the AP Calc BC Exam and during late May, I also decide to enroll myself in a Multi-variable Calc at a community college.

Two days ago, I got my results from my Calc Exam (late testing, late results) and I found out that I scored a 3. Then just today, I got my final grades computed from my MVC and I got a B- (2.67gpa). My community college runs on a 4.33 gpa scale. The college I have been admitted to, runs on a 4.0gpa scale and converting, I would get a pitiful 2.4gpa

Problem

Now I feel like God just stabbed me twice in the heart because now I really feel like I am fishing for the wrong fish here.