MS or PhD in Materials Science and Engineering

In summary, a PhD is more beneficial for long term goals. A MS is good for entry level jobs in industry, but a BSc is necessary for management positions.
Shmevlet
Hello,

I am currently a chemistry student and will be graduating this Spring. I have applied to a couple of schools and have been accepted to one school so far for a PhD in Materials Science and Engineering. I am worried that a PhD is overkill. Long term I want to work in industry. I would like to lead a research group. I am thinking of focusing on materials for energy applications such as batteries and solar arrays.
I have some research experience with doing computational modeling and work experience as an analytic chemist (mostly HPLC work).
Is a Master's Degree sufficient for my goals or would a PhD be more beneficial.

Thank you

P.S. It is possible to obtain a Master's Degree along the way to a PhD, but it is frowned upon because professors don't want to pay for your education and then get less research out of their investment.

Physics news on Phys.org
Shmevlet said:
Hello,

I am currently a chemistry student and will be graduating this Spring. I have applied to a couple of schools and have been accepted to one school so far for a PhD in Materials Science and Engineering. I am worried that a PhD is overkill. Long term I want to work in industry. I would like to lead a research group. I am thinking of focusing on materials for energy applications such as batteries and solar arrays.
I have some research experience with doing computational modeling and work experience as an analytic chemist (mostly HPLC work).
Is a Master's Degree sufficient for my goals or would a PhD be more beneficial.

Thank you

P.S. It is possible to obtain a Master's Degree along the way to a PhD, but it is frowned upon because professors don't want to pay for your education and then get less research out of their investment.