Most accurate mid-range projectile launcher

In summary, the most accurate mid-range projectile launcher is a device used to launch projectiles at a moderate distance with precise aim. This type of launcher is often used in military operations, sporting events, and recreational activities. It utilizes advanced technology and design to ensure accurate and consistent shots, making it a highly sought-after weapon or tool. Its versatility and reliability make it a preferred choice for various applications.
Peter F
< Mentor Note -- thread moved to HH from the technical physics forums, so no HH Template is shown >

Hello everyone,

I am a mechanical engineering student and was given the task to design a very accurate projectile launcher within a distance of 10 to 20 meters. It should be adjustable within that range and portable by one person. Accuracy is the most important though. I was thinking of a crossbow operated with a spring or a skeet shooter would fit the description well. Any ideas would be highly appreciated. Thank you in advance

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Peter F said:
Hello everyone,

I am a mechanical engineering student and was given the task to design a very accurate projectile launcher within a distance of 10 to 20 meters. It should be adjustable within that range and portable by one person. Accuracy is the most important though. I was thinking of a crossbow operated with a spring or a skeet shooter would fit the description well. Any ideas would be highly appreciated. Thank you in advance
What about natural gas as a propellant? You could make a mini artillery piece. Maybe you could use some parts from a car like spark-plug, fuel injector etc.

Presumably, firearms are not allowed. What are the complete and accurate requirements that you're working with?

Welcome to the PF, @Peter F :smile:

Since this project is for your schoolwork, I've moved your thread to the schoolwork forums.