Modeling reaction forces on a foundation for fences

In summary, Craig's post is about finding a way to prevent his post from tipping over, with the help of a structural engineer. Craig calculates that the post needs a reaction force of 6.66kN to stay upright, which is much higher than the weight of the post. The fulcrum or pivot would be at the ground, since the concrete base fixes the post, which would rotate about the ground level. There are two ways to solve the problem, depending on the soil type. The first approach is to work out the stability of the system if the block was standing on a hard surface. The second approach is to check that the soil loading is reasonable, making assumptions about load distribution.
Craig91
Hello new to the forum.

I'm a builder by trade and enjoy studying the concepts behind the things I build.

My problem is:

A typical concrete post and base panel with a wooden fence. Unit mass approximately 350kgs including the foundation concrete around the posts.

2.0m wide x 2.0m above ground. 0.5m depth below ground. Figures adjusted for ease.
0.1 x 0.1m concrete posts.

If I take a figure of 0.5kN/m^2 for lateral storm wind load, that gives a lateral load of 2Kn.

How do I model the reaction force from the foundations, such that the unit won't tip over?

If I imagine the problem as a seesaw type arrangement, then where do I put the fulcrum:
  • ground level
  • opposite diagonal to the pushing force. i.e. opposite bottom corner to push force
  • or two thirds depth of embedment as point of rotation (I came across this figure in a couple of old texts)

If I look at it as a seesaw arrangement about ground level, then I get a reaction force of 8kN.
If I look at it from a moment arrangement using a footing width of 0.3m, then I get a reaction force needed of 6.66kN.

Either way the reaction force needed is much bigger than the weight of the unit approx 3.5kN . Therefore how much do the following factors come into play: