Modeling fracture flow in stress field in COMSOL

In summary, To model fluid flow in a stress field using COMSOL, you should use the CFD Module. This will allow you to simulate the effects of a pressure gradient on the flow of a fluid through a fracture. You can also vary the pressure at the top of the box and use a parameter sweep to observe the resulting flow patterns.
Atr cheema
I am new to COMSOL and I want to model fluid flow in stress field. As starting point I want a simple 2D box having a fracture from right to left while pressure gradient vertically. I want to know the threshold value of that pressure from top which allows flow of fluid in fracture. Can anyone please suggest me which modules of COMSOL should I be using. I see simple fluid flow in fracture examples but not where impact of pressure controls the flow!

Engineering news on Phys.org
For this simulation, you should use the CFD Module in COMSOL. This module will allow you to simulate a variety of different flow phenomena, including the effects of a pressure gradient on the flow of a fluid through a fracture. You can also set up a boundary condition to represent the pressure at the top of the box, and then vary this value to see how it affects the flow. Additionally, you can set up a parameter sweep to systematically vary the pressure and observe the resulting flow patterns.

Related to Modeling fracture flow in stress field in COMSOL

What is COMSOL?

COMSOL is a finite element analysis software used for modeling and simulating physical systems. It allows scientists and engineers to solve complex problems using mathematical equations and computational methods.

What is fracture flow?

Fracture flow is the movement of fluids through fractures or cracks in a solid material, such as rocks or concrete. This flow can have a significant impact on the behavior of the material and can be modeled using numerical methods.

How does COMSOL model fracture flow in stress fields?