Minoring in Physics, Majoring in Electrical Engineering

In summary: It would have been a lot of work and I don't think it would have been worth it. It would have been a lot of work and I don't think it would have been worth it.
LordWillO
Hi,

I am a Senior in High School taking a lot of STEM classes. So far, I have really enjyed my physics class and AP Chemistry. I am in the 80th percentile for math in my school, taking Precalculus at the college level (the highest my HS offers is AP Calculus). I am an Amateur Radio Operator and I have really grown to like the fact that you can take math and apply to interesting concepts like transformers and resonance. I intend to major in Electrical Engineering (I want to do RF) and I am going to either the Air Force Academy or Naval Academy, and or I am goinf to do AFROTC or NROTC at whatever college I get accepted to. My question is: should I attempt to minor in physics, or would it be too challenging, or would it not be useful for me? I especially like electrmagnetics. If you need more information, just ask; and sorry for the long post.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
It is certainly doable. People double major all of the time. Just make sure you get your Calculus, physics, and chemistry sequence finished ASAP because you don't want to miss out on taking the more in depth upper level classes for lack of a prerequisite, trust me I learned the hard way.

Given your interests and attitudes that seems like a completely reasonable major/minor combination.

I have multiple friends who majored in EE and minored in physics or vice versa.

G01 said:
Given your interests and attitudes that seems like a completely reasonable major/minor combination.

I have multiple friends who majored in EE and minored in physics or vice versa.

It depends on your university.