Minimize sum of number & reciprical + proof

• MHB
  • Thread starter Dethrone
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Proof Sum
In summary: I have a proof by contradiction. The limit as you approach infinity and $0^+$of the objective function is infinity. How can we draw a conclusion from that? :confused:
Dethrone
Find a positive number such that the sum of the number and its reciprocal is as small as possible. Full marks for proving your answer is correct.

Process:

let $a>0$
$$f(a)=a+\frac{1}{a}$$
$$f'(a)=1-\frac{1}{a^2}=\frac{(a+1)(a-1)}{a^2}$$

The critical numbers are $0$, $\pm 1$, but only $1$ is a solution because it is greater than 0. Now I have to prove this, and I'm pretty sure it's not by doing a first or second derivative test. Now I'm kind of excited right now because it's my first time doing a "proof by contradiction". Let me know if it works :D

Suppose there is a $b>0$ such that its sum and reciprocal is less than $a$.
$$b+\frac{1}{b}<a+\frac{1}{a}$$
The RH side is equal to $2$:
$$b+\frac{1}{b}<2$$
$$b^2-2b+1<0$$
$$(b-1)^2<0$$

There are no solutions that satisfy the inequality. Hence, $a=1$ is the smallest number that satisfy the problem. Let me know whether my proof works or not, or if there are better ways of proving it :D

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I don't see anything wrong with your proof, however you could also use either the first or second derivative tests, or you could take the limit of the objective function at the boundaries, which are $0^{+}$ and $\infty$ and draw a conclusion from that.

The limit as you approach infinity and $0^+$of the objective function is infinity. How can we draw a conclusion from that? :confused:

Rido12 said:
The limit as you approach infinity and $0^+$of the objective function is infinity. How can we draw a conclusion from that? :confused: