Microwave interactions with motion sensors

In summary, Bobbywhy's advice is that it is possible, but extremely unlikely, for a microwave motion sensor to be circumvented by flooding the space in front of the sensor with microwaves or maybe more specifically using a device (like a Tunnel Diode) that can match the frequency the sensor is using to give it a false "map" of the room.
Securityman
Hello everyone here at the physics forum. Forgive me if I am not posting this question in the correct forum. I am not a physicist, but I do know my way around a little bit. Now on to my question. I am a security consultant who conducts security audits and specializes more specifically in physical penetration testing. For those of you who do not know what this is, PPT is a security audit in which one is given permission to try to circumvent a client's security system through physical means. I.E. breaking in, safecracking, covert infiltration, etc. Now that you have my background, a client recently asked me a question I couldn't answer because it had never come up before and I hadn't thought about it. He asked if his microwave based motion sensors could be circumvented by either flooding the space in front of the sensor with microwaves or maybe more specifically using a device (like a Tunnel Diode) that can match the frequency the sensor is using to give it a false "map" of the room. Is something like this possible?

Thank you very much for assistance!

-Securityman

Science news on Phys.org
Securityman, Welcome to Physics Forums!

A continuous wave (CW) microwave motion sensor uses the Doppler principle to detect motion of reflective targets (usually people). If the target is moving towards the unit the received frequency is higher; if moving away the frequency is lower. The receiver detects this difference and trips the alarm. Even if the area was flooded with radiation this higher/lower frequency still gets to the detector.