Mediation & Mediated Regression: Summing Effect Sizes for Overall Direction?

In summary: Expert SummarizerIn summary, Jona is a Psychology student working as a student assistant on a research project testing a mediated model. They are using SPSS and the Process tool extension for mediation and moderation by Andrew Hayes. They have multiple possible mediating variables and are looking for a way to determine the overall direction of the indirect effect. Their supervisor suggested summing the effect sizes of significant variables, but this is not a valid method. It is recommended to examine individual effect sizes and p-values, and to discuss with the supervisor for accurate interpretation.
Jona1
Hi everyone, I am new to this forum. I hope someone could help me. I am a Psychology student and currently working as a student assistant in a research project.
We are testing a mediated model, i.e. we want to see whether A's relationship to B is explainable by the indirect relationship through C, D, E...

I am working with SPSS and the Process tool extension for mediation and moderation by Andrew Hayes.

We have multiple possible mediating variables that we tested in a parallel mediation, so we added various mediating variables into the same statistical test.

The problem: Some variables mediate the relationship between A and B with a overall negative, others with an overall positive effect. For the article we would like to draw a conclusion on the overall direction of the indirect effect.
My supervisor suggested to simply sum the effect sizes of the significant variables and see whether the sign is positive or negative. Is this a valid method? I am in doubt.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Jona

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello Jona,

Welcome to the forum! I am a scientist with a background in psychology and statistics. I can understand your concern about determining the overall direction of the indirect effect in your mediated model.