Mechanical Engineering Technology vs. Physics

In summary, the student is torn between their current major in Mechanical Engineering Technology and their passion for physics. They are considering an engineering concentration in physics, but the curriculum does not offer key engineering classes they are interested in. They need to make a decision by Monday for registration. The student is also interested in working in the aerospace field and is aware that an ABET accredited engineering degree is necessary for this career path. They are considering the manufacturing engineering program at their school, which is accredited but newer and may not have a lot of information available. Overall, the student is seeking help in deciding which major to pursue.
Technium
I'm a freshman college student and I'm confused about what I want my major to be. My current major is Mechanical Engineering Technology. I love engineering because I want to design and create machines that will be beneficial to human life, but I love physics because I want to know how the universe operates. Sadly Physics is not offered as a minor at my school, but Physics majors have a choice to have an Engineering concentration. Even though I can choose this option, I won't have the Engineering class that I would really want. Materials Science, Statics, Fluid/Thermodynamics, and Hydraulics/Pneumatics aren't part of the curriculum. I need to decide by Monday, since registration for Spring classes start. I have a strong passion for both majors. Please help me decide.

Here is the course schedule for Physics:
http://www.vsu.edu/PDFFiles/University%20Relations/PHYSICS%20CURRICULUM%20ALL.pdf

PS: In engineering I really want to work in the Aerospace field. Lifelong passion...

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Well, from my experience, Engineering technology is easier to find a job than Physics. If your goal is to get a job after you graduate, that is.