Mechanical engineering technologist

In summary: I've been researching Mechanical Engineering Technician vs Mechanical Engineering Technologist and I think I'll go with the technician route. Would you recommend this?Yes, I think it's a great idea. A lot of companies will only hire technicians and not engineers, so going as a technician will give you the opportunity to move up into engineering if you want to. Good luck!In summary, Tim is planning on going back to school to become a Mechanical Engineering Technician. He is unsure if he will enjoy the theoretical aspects of the engineering career, but he is more suited towards a practical and hands-on career. He recommends that he go to a technician route to gain the opportunity to move into engineering.
timgkelly
hey Lads and Lass',

I am planning on going back to school and I was hoping I could get some advice from you fine folks.

First, I'll give you a bit of background on my situation. I'm a red seal HVAC/R mechanic with an extensive background in building automation systems (DDC systems, pneumatics). I recently quit my job to take on a government job. Its a good job...pay is ok and hours are good. I'm doing maintenance/service on the mechanical systems as well as the testing and lab equipment, but I'm starting to get bored with all the checklists/legislated-weekly/monthly garbage they have me doing. I've always wanted to be an engineer, however, I'm unsure if I'll enjoy or excel at the theoretical aspects of it. I would be more suited towards a more practical and hands on type career (testing, troubleshooting, commissioning). While I was researching, I came across "mechanical engineering technologist" and "mechanical engineering technician". They sound interesting, but, I figured I'd ask the pros what their thoughts are on this career path. I'd really like to help engineers or scientists fabricating, building, testing and troubleshooting machinery and equipment. Do you think I'm on the right track?

Thanks!
Tim