Mechanical Engineer from Norway Seeks Help with Problem

In summary, Emilsen, a mechanical engineer from Norway, has a work related query about calculating the height and maximum acceleration of mass 1 when mass 2 is quickly released from being suspended in a spring. They have attempted to solve the problem using conservation of energy and the equation E1spring = E2spring + E2kinetic, but are unsure if this is the correct approach. They are seeking an explanation from someone with expertise on the topic.
Emilsen
Hi,
I'm a mechanical engineer from Norway who has an work related query.
Please see the attached picture describing the problem.

I'm trying to figure out how heigh mass 1 travels if mass 2 is quick released when being suspended in a spring. I'm also trying to figure out a the maximum acceleration, but that's 2. priority.

I have tried to work out an answer my self, but I don't think it's correct.
The thing I can't get my head around is how to calculate the height mass 1 travels above it's equilibrium due to the speed and spring tension. If the mass 2 had been release slowly, the answer could easily be found using the energy forumula(E=1/2*k*x^2), as far as I can understand.

Any bright minds who could spare a few minutes explaining me this?

Help is much appreciated!

Have a nice sunday.

Attachments

• Problem_Fjær.jpg
    Problem_Fjær.jpg
    16.9 KB · Views: 384
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Emilsen! Welcome to PF! :smile:

I think "quick release" simply means that M2 starts going down, and M1 starts going up.

So you can use conservation of energy (for M1 and the spring).

Hi tiny-tim,
Thanks for your reply.

I have tried the following equation setup:
E1spring=E2spring+E2kinetic
1/2kx12=1/2kx22+1/2mv2

I used F=kx to find x1 and x2 for mass 1+2 and mass 1.

I then tried the following formula to calculate how heigh the mass 1 went above the E2spring equilibrium:
v2=v1-gs/v1=0, to find s.

Is this the right path?

Hi Emilsen! :smile:
Emilsen said: