Mechanical Engineer at a Nuclear Power Plant

In summary, a Mechanical Engineer works in a nuclear power plant and does a variety of tasks, some of which are maintenance-related. They may be suited up to protect against radiation, but the vast majority of their time will be spent in an office.
VitaX
Can anyone tell me who is a Mechanical Engineer and works in a Nuclear Power Plant, just what their daily duties include? How they like the work environment and such. I'm interested in knowing because as a student, my university has a Co-op program. Recently, I sent out my resume to FirstEnergy and they want to set up an interview at one of their Nuclear Power Plants they over see. It seems pretty promising and definitely an interesting place to work at. I would have to say my top 2 career choices for later on would be Aerospace Engineering and Nuclear Engineering.

Physics news on Phys.org
The duties of a mech eng at a nuclear plant are quite varied, but generally it is solving small problems (like a valve manufacturer has changed the part numbers for a bonnet seal, someone has to confirm that the parts with e new numbers are the same as the old parts) to quite large problems (like we need to install a third emergency diesel generator). And everything in between. The safety equipment gets tested every month, someone needs to watch the results for slow degradation over time. The NRC inspector has questions, someone needs to provide the answers. Another plant found a problem with valves from XYZ company -- someone needs to see if we have the same valves. Operations department says this pump sounds funny. There is a small crack in this pipe support...

If you work inside the plant you will learn how to get dressed up to prevent you from contaminating yourself, and you will go into places and see things that your fellow students will never see.