Measuring resistance in a superconductor

In summary, the device that the intern is working with detects a sudden change in the superconducting properties of a material by measuring the voltage induced in a coil. The critical temperature is the midpoint of the transition period.
chutes123
I am currently an intern at a superconductor lab and have been faced with a personal curiosity. I work with a device that determines the critical temperature at which the material stops superconducting. This device is composed of an electric temperature probe and two coils of wire which are positioned on either side of the sample. I run a MATLAB program which graphs the Voltage vs. the Temperature over time. It seems to me that there is a voltage produced in one coil and the inducted current is measured in the second. The signal is provided and recovered from a "Signal Recovery" device which displays the real time voltage in and voltage out. I am pretty sure that an AC voltage is applied since there is this sort of induction. Does anyone know what properties and equations would be used to measure the varying superconducting properties in this device? If I was not clear about anything, please ask.

Engineering news on Phys.org
My guess is that it is detecting the presence of the Meissner effect. When a material transitions into superconducting state, any static magnetic field lines that were passing through it are suddenly expelled. One coil may be creating static B field, and the other looking for induced voltage due to sudden change in B field (Faraday's law).

Ask someone there and report back, include photo if you can!