Meaning of Scale of an events/process in MonteCarlo

• Thread starter Alkass
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Scale
In summary, the term "scale" in the context of events and processes in MonteCarlo refers to three types of scales: the momentum exchange of the process (Q^2), the renormalization scale which is a cut-off for loop integrals, and the factorization scale which separates particle splittings from matrix elements. These scales are important in perturbation calculations and can have an impact on the accuracy of the results.
Alkass
Meaning of "Scale" of an events/process in MonteCarlo

Hi there

I do have this question - I often hear that "this depends on the scale of the process" for example when it comes to match the matrix-elements with a parton-shower program (I am new to MonteCarlo world)

so, what does "scale" means ? Is just the Q that is carried out by the produced particle or is what we could define as factorization scale ie Q^2 = m^2(W) + Sum{JetPT(i)}

thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello,

There are I guess 3 types of scale present normally.

The first is the momentum exchange of the process, Q^2. Which is determined by the incoming colliding particles or by a previous branching if you are talking about Parton showering.

Then there are two un physical scales. Renormalization and factorisation

This first if these is essentially a momentum cut off for loop integrals.

The second has to do with factoring some particle splittings into say a proton, as oppose to including it in a matrix element.

These last two scales are a remnant if the fact we are doing perturbation only to some order. I.e. because we are ignorant to higher orders we haven't calculated.

Hope this helps

Related to Meaning of Scale of an events/process in MonteCarlo

1. What is the meaning of scale in a Monte Carlo event/process?