Maximizing Research Success for Medical Physics MS Program: Tips and Strategies

In summary: Without a good understanding of the physics of radiation transport I think it would be difficult to self-study those particular packages, but having a working knowledge of monte carlo techniques would be great.
sgfairbro
I'm an undergrad studying physics now. I plan on applying to a medical physics M.S. program in the next few years. The program is in partnership with a hospital, and in the second year, I'll do a research project with a faculty member of the hospital.

My question concerns what I should be doing now to best prepare to excel in the research. The hospital gives preferential treatment to top graduates of the M.S. program. I feel that the better my research project, the better chance I'll have of gaining a coveted residency position.

Are there areas of research that hospitals focus on? And in those research areas, are there skills that will better prepare me to tackle the research (e.g. electrical engineering, programming, thorough understanding of quantum mechanics, etc.)

Physics news on Phys.org
Most medical physicists work in radiation oncology and so their interests will focus on delivery of radiation in a therapeutic context. That said, medical physics research can be quite varied. Some examples:
- developing the next generation of radiation detectors
- developing new imaging modalities, or improving old ones
- support for clinical trials
- testing the properties of a commercial product in a clinical environment
- developing a new optimization algorithm
- modeling biological responses to treatment
- refining quality control processes

Those are just some broad examples off the top of my head. In general, medical physics tends to be "applied" physics, so things I would try to fit into my curriculum would include:
- learning to program (the specific language is not so important as programming itself)