Maximizing Projectile Efficiency: Energy Conservation in High School Physics

In summary, students are using energy conservation to derive the range formula for projectiles. It is not a shortcut to use the forces of classical mechanics.
jds10011
I post here very infrequently, but I'm a high school physics teacher occasionally encountering excellent student questions. Here is one I received today:

Since we've been using energy conservation to simplify problems that were annoying earlier in the year (kinematics, mechanics, etc.), can we apply this to projectiles? (Me: yes, definitely, here's some examples...) Particularly, deriving the range formula is annoying, can we do this with energy? (Me: can't think of how...) Also, finding the range of a projectile shot at an angle above the horizontal off a cliff of a known height is really annoying, how about using energy for this? (Me: can't think of how...)

Any thoughts, folks?

Physics news on Phys.org
Its worse with energy... think: principle of least action.
Basically kinematics is good for geometry while physical laws are good for physics.

I think you need to start by defining the problem: what is it about deriving the range formula which is considered annoying?
Why are students deriving this formula anyway, if they already have kinematic equations and/or can draw velocity time graphs?
Once you can articulate what the exercize is for and how students relate to it, you can make progress.

You may try getting range from the position that initial kinetic energy is restored, but is that an improvement?

It's easiest to directly use the forces in this case. Calculating from the energy can be done but it is not a shortcut. If you use the Hamiltonian formulation of classical mechanics, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamiltonian_mechanics
For a simple projectile falling in gravity problem, the Hamiltonian is the energy.