Max Jumping Height in Elevator Descending at Constant Vel.

In summary, the conversation discusses a physics problem involving a basketball player jumping in an elevator that is descending at a constant speed. The person working on the problem uses an equation to determine the player's initial velocity and calculates his maximum jump height to be 93cm. However, the textbook answer is 55cm, which is explained by the fact that the elevator is already moving when the player jumps. The concept of relative motion is also brought up and it is emphasized that the constant motion of the elevator does not affect anything within it. The conversation concludes by clarifying that the question is a conceptual one and that the acceleration of the elevator would require further details for an answer.
Virsis

Homework Statement

I work as a supplemental instructor for an intro physics class. As I was preparing my worksheet for this week I came across this problem.

A basketball player can jump to a height of 55cm. How far above the floor can he jump in an elevator that is descending at a constant 1.0m/s.

Homework Equations

vf2 = vi2 + 2aΔx

The Attempt at a Solution

First I used the above equation to determine the initial velocity the basketball player would need to achieve a height of 55cm on steady ground: 3.28m/s.

I then said that relative to the floor of the elevator the player is moving at 4.28m/s initially.

Thus his max height should be 93cm.

However, the answer in the back of the textbook says that the answer is 55cm (same as his normal jump height).

So that makes sense if the elevator is already moving when he jumps. Then his velocity before the jump is already -1m/s, offsetting the fact that the elevator is moving away from him after he jumps.

If the elevator begins moving the instant after he begins jumping, would my original solution be correct?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org