Maths or NatSci Tripos for US physics grad school?

In summary, the Mathematical tripos at Cambridge offers the option to do 'Maths with Physics' for the first year, which consists of courses from the Faculty of Mathematics and the Physics department. For the second year, students have the option to continue with maths or transfer to the Cavendish for physics as part of the NatSci course. The student is currently undecided on which option to pursue, as they have enjoyed both pure maths and physics courses. They also have an interest in theoretical areas of nanotechnology and are considering what would be the best path to prepare for the Physics GRE and undergraduate research in the same field. Suggestions are given to talk to faculty in both departments, try internships in different areas, and create personal relationships with people
shezi1995
Background: I am an international student doing Mathematical tripos at Cambridge and I have just completed my first year with a 2.i. I did 'Maths with Physics' for my first year. The following paragraph is taken from the department's course website.

"The Mathematics with Physics option consists of courses given by the Faculty of Mathematics, which provide about three-quarters of the total workload, and courses given by the Physics department, including practical work, which provide the remaining quarter of the workload. The physics lectures cover Mechanics and Molecules (Newton’s Laws, states of matter, kinetic theory, properties of gases, liquids and solids), Oscillations and waves (including electric circuits and Fourier analysis), Fields, Relativity and Quantum Physics (including electromagnetism, special relativity, quantum mechanics and cosmology). The mathematical lectures are on Vectors and Matrices, Groups, Differential Equations, Vec- tor Calculus, Analysis and Probability."