Mathematics PhD Admissions from BS in EE?

In summary, Electrical Engineer with strong letters of recommendation and some graduate level math courses taken may have a chance of getting into Duke or Texas A&M, but other schools may be more appropriate.
NOPE1243
Hey guys,

Basically, my heart is set on studying mathematics at the doctoral level and I am trying to figure out what I need to do to get there/what tier of schools I realistically could be a competitive applicant for.

I'm an Electrical Engineer from a state university that graduated with a 3.5 GPA in May 2016. However, my true interest has always been in mathematics. As an undergrad, I took Introductory Real Analysis 1 and Intro. Abstract Algebra 1 and did well in both courses.

So here's the thing, I actually planning on taking a semester of graduate level math courses in the Fall of this year (graduate Topology, Real Analysis 1, and Abstract Algebra 1). I'm leaving my day job and I've actually already registered at a local college as a non degree seeking student(somewhat reputable program). Some people think I'm crazy for ramping up the difficulty that quickly, but I've been studying on my own and actually feel like I can handle this course load in a semester. Plus I already know some graduate topology.

My letters of recommendation are going to be fairly strong, one coming from someone who received their PhD under Robrion Kirby.

With all this in mind, where do I fit into the picture if

1) I do well in the grad courses I'm planning on taking
2)My letter of recommendations end up being strong
3) I don't bomb the GRE ( a big if)

So my question is, with all this in mind.

Do I have a chance at a school like Duke? or Texas A&M or do I need to go WAAAY down the list?

P.S I ideally would like to study something like computational topology (why I'm interested in Duke).

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org