Mathematica: Nested User defined function

In summary, the conversation discusses an issue with defining a function beta[M, θ]. The person is trying to divide the equation into smaller pieces but is encountering a problem with the part showing up in red. They ask for help with the "scope" issue and share two versions of the code, with the second one successfully solving the problem.
Saladsamurai
Hello :smile: I am a total amateur here and can't seem to get this to work: I have a function beta[M, θ] that I am trying to define. beta is a nasty equation that is way too many lines for me to input at once, so I tried to break it up into pieces. However, the part that is showing up in red is giving me trouble. I haven't even gotten to the beta part of the code, but I expect it will give me the same problem.

I think you can see what I am trying to here. How can I get around the "scope" issue that Mathematica is giving me?

thanks!

Code:
lambda[M_, \[Theta]_] := ((M^2 - 1)^2 - 
     3*(1 + 0.2 M^2) (1 + 1.2 M^2)*Tan[\[Theta]]^2)^.5;

X[M_, \[Theta]_] := ((M^2 - 1)^3 - 
     9*(1 + 0.2 M^2)*(1 + 0.2 M^2 + 2.4/4 M^4) Tan[\[Theta]]^2)/
   lambda[B][COLOR="Red"][M_][/COLOR][/B]^3;

beta[M_, \[Theta]_] := 
  ArcTan[ (M^2 - 1 + 2 lambda*Cos[(4 Pi + ArcCos[X])/3])/(
    3*(1 + .2 M^2)*Tan[\[Theta]])]*180/Pi;

Physics news on Phys.org
Meh ... This works!

Code:
Clear["Global`*"]

lambda[MM_, \[Theta]\[Theta]_] := ((MM^2 - 1)^2 - 
     3*(1 + 0.2 MM^2) (1 + 1.2 MM^2)*Tan[\[Theta]\[Theta]]^2)^.5;

X[MMM_, \[Theta]\[Theta]\[Theta]_] := ((MMM^2 - 1)^3 - 
     9*(1 + 0.2 MMM^2)*(1 + 0.2 MMM^2 + 
        2.4/4 MMM^4) Tan[\[Theta]\[Theta]\[Theta]]^2)/
   lambda[MMM, \[Theta]\[Theta]\[Theta]]^3;
beta[M_, \[Theta]_] := 
  ArcTan[ (M^2 - 1 + 
     2 lambda[M, \[Theta]]*Cos[(4 Pi + ArcCos[X[M, \[Theta]]])/3])/(
    3*(1 + .2 M^2)*Tan[\[Theta]])]*180/Pi;

Do you understand why the second one worked and the first one didn't?

Last edited:

Related to Mathematica: Nested User defined function