Math, Math and more Math(The Basics?)

• Thread starter Bumpeh
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Basics
In summary, the conversation discusses the use of calculators in mathematics, particularly in higher level courses and in real life. While elementary school focused on memorizing multiplication tables and long division, the attitude towards calculators changed in high school and college. Some basic math skills, such as mental calculation and knowing basic products, are still important to have in order to speed up work and avoid mistakes. However, for more complex calculations, it is acceptable to rely on calculators or computer programs like MATLAB.
Bumpeh
I've been doing some thinking about the different levels of mathematics I've gone through in high school.

For a little context, I'm a current undergraduate student highly debating majoring in astrophysics. I just finished Calculus I with an A- and I'd consider myself very proficient in it. I enjoyed working with derivatives and integrals and a few simple differential equations. I know I really need to brush up on my trigonometry, perhaps even my geometry, but when it comes to Calculus I'm fairly proficient, which is good since it's a fundamental math for physics.

In elementary school, the teachers drilled in our heads that we needed to know our multiplication tables and long division cause we won't be able to use calculators in real life. Calculators were shunned in elementary school. When I got to high school, the attitude was a little different, but still intent on saying calculators were the devil. Now I'm in college, and there's an extremely different attitude. Sure, in calculus you can't use a graphing calculator because a graphing calculator would defeat the purpose of the learning what Isaac Newton created for finding the slope of a tangent and secant line and the area under a curve, but you can still use your scientific calculator all you want.