Mastering Forces on an Inclined Plane: Final Exam Question Help

• Thread starter paigegail
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Exam Final
In summary, the conversation is about someone seeking help with studying for their final exam, specifically with finding forces of objects on an inclined plane. They are struggling with a specific question and need help finding the acceleration of a crate on a ramp at a 22 degree angle. They are given two scenarios, one with no friction and one with a coefficient of kinetic friction of 0.0. They also need help resolving the force of gravity into its components parallel and perpendicular to the inclined surface.
paigegail
Final Exam Question Help!

HELP!
I need extra help. I'm studying for my Final Exam which is tomorrow and I cannot remember how to find forces of objects on an inclined plane. The question I'm having troubles with is:
A 12.5 kg crate is placed on a ramp that is at an angle of 22 degrees from the horizontal. Find the acceleration of the crate would be down the ramp:
a) in the absence of friction (answer 3.67 m/s-squared down slope)
b) if the coefficient of kinetic friction is 0.0 (0.95 m/s-squared down slope)
Help!

Physics news on Phys.org
Resolve g into its component || and Perp to the inclined surface

u will have gsin(theta) & gcos(theta) along || and perp to inclined surface respectively

Hi there! It sounds like you're having trouble with forces on an inclined plane. Don't worry, I'm here to help! Let's break down the problem and go through the steps to find the acceleration of the crate.

First, we need to draw a diagram to visualize the situation. Draw a ramp at a 22 degree angle from the horizontal, with a crate weighing 12.5 kg on top of it. We can label the angle as θ and the weight of the crate as mg.