Master Thesis Topic: GR & Statistical Mechanics

In summary, the conversation is about a master student looking for a topic for their master thesis in Statistical Mechanics, with a focus on General Relativity, Cosmology, or Particle Physics. They have been struggling to find a topic and have considered studying phase transitions and spontaneous symmetry breaking, but are unsure if it is a feasible topic. The conversation also touches on the application of Statistical Mechanics in astrophysics and early universe cosmology, and a possible connection between the Einstein field equations and the second law of thermodynamics. The student asks for any resources or examples that could help them gain a better understanding of these topics.
iorfus
Hello!
I am a master student, and I am about to start working on my master thesis, which, in my counrty, is a substantial work of 6 months which usually involves original research.

I will be supervised by two professors of Statistical Mechanics, who have many research interest. In these days, we have to start talking about the topic of my thesis.

I would like to be able to propose them a topic which is connected to General Relativity or Cosmology, or even Particle Physics. I have read around the Internet but I have not been able to find something which I could really propose as a topic.

I had thoug about something like Statistical Mechanics- Phase transitions- Spontaneous symmetry breaking, but I am not able to find, say, a review to become enough knowledgeable to talk to my professors.

I continue to read that Statistical Mechanics is very often used in General Relativity and Cosmology, but I cannot see precisely why.

Can please anyhone help me?
Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org