Mandatory (online) courses for theoretical physics

In summary, it would seem that for someone who wants to learn theoretical physics extensively, the courses recommended would include Special relativity, Field theory, Statistical mechanics, Classical mechanics, and Quantum field theory.
Mishra
Hello,

I am a master student in physics. I have come to realize that I will probably not work in a highly theoretical field in the future as I do not believe I stand a real chance in this world. However I want to learn as much as I can "on the side".

Which set of courses would you recommend to get as far as possible in theoretical physics (QFT, QED, strings and their link to particle physics etc.) ? Including maths courses.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello Mishra,

There's a whole load of excellent lectures by Leonard Susskind at Stanford.
I recommend Special relativity which isn't really what it says: after a few lectures he introduces field theory and that's what it's about.

Hello BvU,

Thanks for you answer.
I've followed a few lectures from Susskind (GR, QM, Statistical mechanics, Classical mechanics). He is great . But I am looking for something more technical (or formal). His lectures are somewhat missing some maths. Strangely I feel like they are great for someone who already knows the subjects and would be looking for Susskind's unique point of view and ways of doing physics.

I've followed David Tong's QFT lectures (www youtube.com/watch?v=8yplCob7_Ck.) That was more like what I'm looking for: "formal" physics.

Hello Mishra,