Major Guidance: A problematic situation

In summary, I am an expert at understanding complex information and can extrapolate other consequences from what I know.
jgrieme
First I may give you some background information and information on relevant classes taken:

Not that it really means anything anymore, but I was in the top tier of class rank in high school with a 3.91 gpa.

High school: Mathematics up to APCalculus, APBiology, APChemistry, Astronomy, Physics(not an AP, unfortunately we didn't have it)
College: Analysis of Calculus (essentially formal proofs and mathematical logic), Biology(dropped. see below.), Logic

In terms of understanding, I have always found that I tend to grasp relatively complex information easily, or at least this is what I have been told. Rote memorization is usually my weakest point as I must understand something to learn it, but once I do its solid in my memory for a long time. Additionally I find that I am able to extrapolate other consequents and facts from the principles that I know. I cannot express my frustration at the people who merely regurgitate information on tests. Maybe its all fine for them, but to me it seems utterly pointless, for if you cannot explain what you studied in depth but can only pick the correct answer out on a multiple choice test, then what have you really learned?

Calculus was pretty easy for me and analysis wasn't that bad either. As an English major, I was called upon to proofread papers for one of my friend's Biochemistry class on a pretty regular basis. While I found that I didn't know the contextual meaning of certain compounds expressed, I never found it difficult to comprehend his lab readouts and write-ups. In fact, sometimes to his surprise, I would often times even question him about his work. He used to tell me that I was making a mistake majoring in English if I could understand the information to such a degree without any previous knowledge, but I never paid heed to his words until recently.