M.D. getting engineering degree

In summary: If you want to pursue a career in medical device engineering, you should pursue a degree in engineering.
docwithabox
Hello all (first time posting)

I've been reading these forums for awhile now and always find them interesting. I have a general question I'd like to throw out for some opinions. I have an MD degree and have been working for about 15 years (44 years old now). For several years, I have been feeling the urge to return to school and study science much deeper than I already have. My math skills from high school were worse than bad, and I did very little in college. I got into med school without a bachelor's and the rest is history.

My father has a PhD in Mech. Eng. with much high profile stuff (government, IPOs, consulting, political stuff) and has offered me lots of encouragement and advice. I am exploring Biomedical Engineering. I spoke with the director of one of the schools here (in Massachusetts) who said as long as I fulfilled the math requirement (which isn't a problem) I would have no difficulty getting into the program.

What interests me most is exploring quantum mechanics/effects and how it has affected the evolution of biomedical systems, and more precisely, how we can harness this info to design ways to alter disease progression, augment bodily functions, etc. An industry position would be fine with me, although I think I'd find alphabet soup applications equally interesting.

I guess my question would be: Does anyone have any opinion as to whether a PhD in Bio. Eng. is the best way to go about pursuing these ideas or would some alternate track be more advantageous. My father told me once he almost got his PhD in math but wanted engineering on his diploma. I've heard this from another friend, too (who may very well be on this forum somewhere)

Comments? Questions? Criticisms?

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Often what your degree says can be more-or-less just a placeholder.