Lucrative career options for a Physics Masters

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's background in theoretical particle physics and their loss of interest in pursuing an academic career. They are curious about lucrative career options for those with a Masters degree in physics, particularly in companies like Google and Facebook. The conversation also touches on the importance of networking and research in finding the right career path. The idea of defining what is considered "lucrative" and exploring fields such as finance and technology is also mentioned.
spaghetti3451
Hi, I am doing a Masters in theoretical particle physics (in Canada, where Masters is a separate degree from PhD). My research is mostly pen and paper work. There's no programming. My coursework was in quantum field theory, general relativity and cosmology.

Recently, I have lost my interest in theoretical particle physics because I realized that i do not want to be an academic.

People on physicsforums talk about lucrative career options for physics Phds. What are some career options for physics masters? Are there no lucrative career options say, in Google or Facebook, or as a quant? Is a PhD in physics the only way to ensure lucrative career options?

Physics news on Phys.org
So much hurry that you fire two almost parallel threads ?
failexam said:
Is a PhD in physics the only way to ensure lucrative career options?
On the contrary. It earns you a living if you're good at it but that's it. Real estate earns you a lot more if you're good at that. Or car sales :rolleyes:.

You sure your interest is lost and gone forever ? You sure your interest in Google, Facebook (and not MS ?) is genuine ? My advice: make an inventory based on genuine interests instead of lucreativity. Better to have work you love and like and earns you just enough than a job you hate and earns you a bit more for as long as you can hold on to it. You didn't choose theoretical physics because you like bricklaying.