Loss of Motivation: First-Year EE Grad Student Seeks Tips

In summary, the first year graduate student has lost interest in their research, has no motivation, and is at an impasse. They are worried that they are tying themselves to a bad research group and has little hope of getting out of the rut. They suggest finding a new adviser and research focus, as well as taking time off.
blindconsole
I'm a first-year EE grad student at a prominent university, and I feel like I'm at an impasse. Basically, I've lost all interest in my research, as well as my (once strong) peripheral interests in physics and math. I have no more motivation. At the risk of sounding like I'm venting, I really have no one else I can talk to about this, and I'm hoping someone can offer me advice.

First of all, I have serious doubts about my research group. Though my advisor is respected enough to be tenured, over the past nine months I've slowly come to the realization that he doesn't really do anything new. Pretty much everything he does is incremental, using other people's leaps. In other words, I think he might be a hack. As I would like to eventually go into academia, I worry that I am tying myself to the wrong horse.

In addition, anecdotal evidence suggests to me that his group has a high attrition rate. Presumably, a lot of his students quit. I suspect that one reason for this is that he is a terrible motivator. I've noticed that when I come out of our meetings, I feel less enthused about things than when I entered. It's hard for me not to contrast this with my undergrad research advisor, who was able to get me excited about his topic. Lastly, for several months, he gave me little-to-no direction, and I practically had to beg him for something to work on. This is not normal for first semester students, correct?