Looking for help understanding string theory

In summary,String theory is a vast topic that may not be fully covered in a grade 9 textbook, but it is still being studied and researched by some of the brightest minds in the field. It has the potential to describe the whole of physics, but is currently controversial because there are many different ways that strings can interact.
Physics_is_beautiful
TL;DR Summary
As a HS student, I just read some content on string theory, and I need help understanding it a little more precisely.
String theory is a vast topic, and no grade 9 book will have content on it. However, no site or video gives it the attention this topic deserves,
please input your understanding of string theory here.
here are a few general questions to think about:
1)What is string theory?
2)Why was it made? (what does it prove/solve?)
3)Why is disregarded nowadays?

• Wow
  • Sad
Likes phinds and PeroK
Physics news on Phys.org
Physics_is_beautiful said:
TL;DR Summary: As a HS student, I just read some content on string theory, and I need help understanding it a little more precisely.

However, no site or video gives it the attention this topic deserves,
Sorry but you are unlikely to find a worthwhile soundbyte level discussion on Google- level search. Too many unfamiliar balls in the air at one time to get a good grasp. I would recommend getting hold of a popular Science book in a (second hand?) bookshop. But books are expensive and you have to be both prepared and able to get well into them. I doubt that your school maths is enough to get you very far. Wait till you have progressed far enough for Quantum Theory and Relativity to make sense (not the sort of sense that a quick googling will give you).
You need to be aware that there is no real evidence to 'prove' string theory. It's all very esoteric and we don't have high enough energy available to test it ----- yet.