Listing publications on resumes

In summary, undergraduate achievement should be highlighted in your cover letter, and unpublished papers should be listed parenthetically after the published papers.
Laura1013
I'm not sure where to post this, but here is as good a place as any.

I'm an undergrad astrophysics major. I've done some research with professors during the past 2 summers. My name is on 3 papers for professional astronomy/astrophysics journals, one of which I've personally written. Two have been submitted and are awaiting acceptance and publication, the other one is still being finalized.

This coming month I will be submitting applications for internships for the summer. Is there a standard for listing unpublished papers on resumes? Is it just not done? Professionals can afford to wait the year or so because they have so much experience already, but undergrads have so little to point to. If I shouldn't yet list them on my resume, what is the best way to make it known that I've written or been a part of these papers?

Thanks!
Laura

Physics news on Phys.org
Laura1013 said:
I'm not sure where to post this, but here is as good a place as any.

I'm an undergrad astrophysics major. I've done some research with professors during the past 2 summers. My name is on 3 papers for professional astronomy/astrophysics journals, one of which I've personally written. Two have been submitted and are awaiting acceptance and publication, the other one is still being finalized.

This coming month I will be submitting applications for internships for the summer. Is there a standard for listing unpublished papers on resumes? Is it just not done? Professionals can afford to wait the year or so because they have so much experience already, but undergrads have so little to point to. If I shouldn't yet list them on my resume, what is the best way to make it known that I've written or been a part of these papers?

Thanks!
Laura