Limits, find delta given epsilon

In summary, the conversation discusses finding the correct value for delta based on a given epsilon and limit of a function at a. It also addresses a potential mistake in the calculation of delta and clarifies the correct question being asked.
John O' Meara
A positive number epsilon (e) and a limit L of a function f at a are given. Find delta such that |f(x)-L|< epsilon if 0 < |x-a| < delta. [tex]\lim_{x->5}, 1/x= 1/5, \epsilon=.05[/tex]. That implies the following [tex] |\frac{1}{x}-\frac{1}{5}|< \epsilon \mbox{ if }|x-5|<\delta[/tex]. Which implies [tex] |\frac{1}{x}-\frac{1}{5}|< .05 \\ [/tex]. Which gives [tex].15< \frac{1}{x} < .25[/tex]. Which gives [tex]6\frac{2}{6}> x > 4 \mbox{ therefore } 1\frac{2}{3} < x-5< -1[/tex]. Which does not give the correct delta. I maybe rusty on algebra, as I am studying on my own. Could someone show me how to do it correctly. Thanks for the help.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
John O' Meara said:
[tex]6\frac{2}{6}> x > 4 \mbox{ therefore } 1\frac{2}{3} < x-5< -1[/tex].

Here is your mistake. The condition is supposed to be [tex]|x-5|<\delta[/tex].

Do you mean that the arrows are the wrong way around [tex] 6\frac{2}{3}>x>4 \mbox{ therefore } 1\frac{2}{3}>x-5>-1[/tex].The actual answer to [tex]\delta = \frac{1}{505} [/tex]. But I cannot get it.

Are you sure you copied the question correctly? If you use 1/x ->5 as x->1/5 instead of the other way around you get that answer.

I checked out the question and I have copied it correctly, they must have meant [tex] \lim_{\frac{1}{x}->5} [/tex]. Thanks.

Related to Limits, find delta given epsilon

What is the definition of a limit?

The limit of a function at a particular point is the value that the function approaches as the input (x-value) gets closer and closer to that point. In other words, it is the value that the function "approaches" but may not necessarily equal at that point.

How do you find the limit of a function algebraically?