Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

[SOLVED] Limit of sequence

wishmaster

Oct 11, 2013
Im new to limits,so please can anybody help me to solve those?
I have to find a limits for given sequences. Detailed instruction how to solve this would be great. Thank you!

1. \(\displaystyle \lim _{n \to \infty} \frac{2}{3} + \frac{3}{2n^2}\)

2. \(\displaystyle \lim _{n \to \infty} \frac{5n^3+6n-3}{7n-3n^3+2}\)

3. \(\displaystyle \lim _{n \to \infty} n\sqrt{n^2+4}-n^2\)

Last edited:

MarkFL

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 24, 2012
Just for future reference, we do ask that no more than 2 questions be asked per thread. This keeps a thread from becoming convoluted and hard to follow.

Let's take these one at a time.

1.) \(\displaystyle \lim _{n\to\infty}\left(\frac{2}{3} + \frac{3}{2n^2} \right)\)

There are 3 theorems I would use here:

a) \(\displaystyle \lim_{x\to c}\left(f(x)\pm g(x) \right)=\lim_{x\to c}f(x)\pm\lim_{x\to c}g(x)\)

b) \(\displaystyle \lim_{x\to c}k=k\) where $k$ is a constant.

c) \(\displaystyle \lim_{x\to\infty}\frac{k}{x^r}=0\) where $0<r$ is a constant.

Can you apply these to get the solution to the given problem?

wishmaster

Oct 11, 2013
Just for future reference, we do ask that no more than 2 questions be asked per thread. This keep a thread from becoming convoluted and hard to follow.

Let's take these one at a time.

1.) \(\displaystyle \lim _{n\to\infty}\left(\frac{2}{3} + \frac{3}{2n^2} \right)\)

There are 3 theorems I would use here:

a) \(\displaystyle \lim_{x\to c}\left(f(x)\pm g(x) \right)=\lim_{x\to c}f(x)\pm\lim_{x\to c}g(x)\)

b) \(\displaystyle \lim_{x\to c}k=k\) where $k$ is a constant.

c) \(\displaystyle \lim_{x\to\infty}\frac{k}{x^r}=0\) where $0<r$ is a constant.

Can you apply these to get the solution to the given problem?

\(\displaystyle \lim _{n\to\infty}\frac{2}{3}+ \lim _{n\to\infty}\frac{3}{2n^2}\) ?

= \(\displaystyle \frac{2}{3}+ 0\) ?

MarkFL

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 24, 2012