Limit of (2-sqrt(x))/(3-sqrt(2x+1)) as x approaches 4 - Simple Limits Question

• Thread starter Yalladoonia
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Limits
In summary, to evaluate the limit as x approaches 4 of (2 - √x)/(3 - √(2x + 1)), you need to first rationalize the numerator and denominator by multiplying by (2 + √x)/(2 + √x) and (3 + √(2x + 1))/(3 + √(2x + 1)). This will simplify the expression and allow you to take the limit, which will result in a divide by zero error.
Yalladoonia

Homework Statement

Evaluate the following limit
[itex]
\displaystyle\lim_{x\rightarrow 4} {\frac{2-\sqrt{x}}{3-\sqrt{2x+1}}}[/itex]

Homework Equations

lim x -> 4

The Attempt at a Solution

i tried change of variables so i get [itex]√2x+1 = u[/itex]
then i rearranged that to get [itex]u^2-1/2[/itex]
And i rearrnage original equation and i get this..
[itex]-(u^2-7)/3-u(u^2-1/2)[/itex]

Sorry i am new with this latex thing .. i don treally konw how to use it the sqrt thing so i just lay it out this way

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I am really unsure of how to use this latex thing... but personally i think my attempt at the solution is all garbage so if anyone could guide me on the right path that would be help ful

Multiply with the nominator and denominator with 3+sqrt(4x+1)

Or l'hopital's?
dirk_mec1 said:
Multiply with the nominator and denominator with 3+sqrt(4x+1)
##\frac{2 - \sqrt{x}}{3 - \sqrt{2x + 1}}\frac{3+\sqrt{2x+1}}{3+\sqrt{2x+1}}=\frac{(2-\sqrt{x})(3+\sqrt{2x+1})}{9 - (2x +1)}##
which still has a divide by zero error as x->4

i think l'hopitals is derivatives, i haven't learned that yet I am only allowed to use limits

You need to rationalize both the numerator and denominator. To do this, multiply by the following:
$$ \frac{2 + \sqrt{x}}{2 + \sqrt{x}} \cdot \frac{3 + \sqrt{2x + 1}}{3 + \sqrt{2x + 1}}$$

When you do this, you get something that you can simplify and then take the limit.