Limit at Infinity: Solve Without Squeeze Theorem

In summary, the conversation is about a limit equation \lim_{x \to \infty} \sqrt{x}\sin\frac{1}{x} and the use of the squeeze theorem. The person is studying for an exam and is questioning if the expansion of sinx is necessary for solving the equation. They also mention using substitution in similar problems. The response suggests using substitution by letting t = \frac{1}{x} to evaluate the limit as \mathop {\lim }\limits_{t \to 0} \frac{{\sin t}}{{\sqrt t }}. The person thanks for the help.
mateomy

Homework Statement

[tex]
\lim_{x \to \infty} \sqrt{x}\sin\frac{1}{x}
[/tex]

Homework Equations

I don't think you can use the squeeze theorem here...

The Attempt at a Solution

So I am just studying for an exam that I have tomorrow and I am going through problems that weren't assigned on our homework set, (just in case he wants to slip something in there).

I was looking at the solution to the fore-mentioned limit equation and it references the expansion of sinx. Is this necessary? I've used substitution before in problems like lim as x approaches infinity of xsin(1\x) setting 1\x as y while t approaches zero. Can that sort of thing be done here?THANKS FOR ANY HELP!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
To make things clearer:
let [tex]t = \frac{1}{x}[/tex]
an now the limit is
[tex]\mathop {\lim }\limits_{t \to 0} \frac{{\sin t}}{{\sqrt t }} = \mathop {\lim (}\limits_{t \to 0} \frac{{\sin t}}{t} \times \sqrt t )[/tex].
Now you shall see how to do it.

Thank you!

Related to Limit at Infinity: Solve Without Squeeze Theorem

1. What is the concept of a limit at infinity?

The limit at infinity is a mathematical concept that describes the behavior of a function as the input variable approaches infinity. It is used to determine the value that a function approaches as its input grows without bound.

2. How is a limit at infinity solved without using the squeeze theorem?