Light Speed and Newton's Equation F=ma: Explanation

In summary, at high velocities, F=ma may not work, but the full version of Newton's Second law does. There is a ratio between veolcity and relative mass, which can be used to make calculations more accurate when dealing with light speed.
rocky14159
Im just an amateur, and I read that Newton's Equation F=ma doesn't work when approaching light speeds because of a relative increase in mass at higher velocicites. What is the reason for this, if any, and is there a ratio between veolcity and relative mass I could use to make my calculations more accurate when dealing with light speed? Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
[itex]F = ma[/itex] may not work, but the full version of Newton's Second law does,

[tex]\mathbf{F} = \frac{d\mathbf{p}}{dt}[/tex]

even at velocities close to the speed of light. However, you should note that unlike the classical case, the acceleration is not generally in the same direction as the force.

Last edited:
Thanks, but can you tell me what the variables d, p, and t are? I am new here and not yet familiar with most full formulas

rocky14159 said:
Im just an amateur, and I read that Newton's Equation F=ma doesn't work when approaching light speeds because of a relative increase in mass at higher velocicites. What is the reason for this, if any, and is there a ratio between veolcity and relative mass I could use to make my calculations more accurate when dealing with light speed? Thanks!
In special relativity it is also F = m0A. And this forumla always works!

But the difference is that A is a 4-vector. A is the 4-acceleration vector which is basically the derivative of the 4-velocity vector with respect to proper time. And the 4-velocity vector is basically the change in direction in spacetime with respect to proper time. But note that we have four, not three, directions in spacetime!
In addition there is the 4-energy-momentum vector which is mass times the 4-velocity vector.