Letters of Recommendation & Summer REU

In summary, the student is a second-year physics undergrad who is looking into REU programs for next summer. They have one professor who they have developed a strong rapport with and is currently doing research with, and another professor who has taught multiple courses but they do not have a personal relationship with. The student is wondering if a letter of recommendation from the latter professor will be beneficial for their REU applications. However, it is suggested that having one strong research-based recommendation and others based on grades and general academic performance will be sufficient at this stage in their career.
Agent M27
I am in my second year as a physics undergrad and I am starting to do some research on REU programs for next summer. I am currently doing research (for zero credits) with my calc professor who I believe will write me a strong LOR, I also received an high A in her calc class. My problem is, she is the only professor with whom I have developed any sort of rapport, my other professors only know me from my grades. I do have one professor, that has taught three of my astro courses so far and will be taking a fourth during the fall, but we aren't on a first name basis. My question is will a LOR which comes from a professor that has no personal relationship with me but they know of my grades, be of any benefit? I definitely plan on cultivating that relationship further this fall which isn't the worst thing in the world since deadlines for REU aren't until spring of next year. I feel like I am being a bit to cautious but I want to get my app in as soon as possible. By the way I want to do either an astronomy or physics REU. Thanks in advance.

Joe

Physics news on Phys.org