Learning Electromagnetism before classical mechanics?

In summary, the conversation is about a first year undergraduate student who is struggling with the decision of whether to use their holidays to catch up on classical mechanics or to start studying electromagnetism. Some people suggest that it's important to have a good understanding of classical mechanics before diving into electromagnetism, while others argue that there isn't much overlap between the two and it's possible to learn electromagnetism without a strong foundation in mechanics. There is also discussion about the importance of first year physics for future studies in engineering and a personal experience of a difficult physics course. The student is also seeking advice on which specific topics in classical mechanics they should focus on before starting electromagnetism.
EmSeeSquared
Hi all,

So basically I would like to know if it's possible. I'm a first year undergrad and I did classical mechanics first semester but I didn't do that well in it. So I'm not sure if I need to use my holidays to catch up with it before we do Electromagnetism during second semester. I would have preferred using my holidays to get some advance with electromagnetism but the fact i didn't do that great in classical mechanics is annoying. I'm not a physics major but I enjoyed physics enough to do it for my first year. However classical mechanics brought my hopes down. Well, I would like to know if I should learn classical mechanics again or just dive into electromagnetism, since I'm not going to second year physics anyways.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
I think you should go through Classical Mechanics again, there is not much overlap between Mechanics and Electromagnetism, but it is never a good idea to progress with big gaps in elementary knowledge. You can, simultaneously start reading into EM, but I think it would be better to catch up with Mechanics first.