Learn Differential Geometry: Books for Bachelor in Geometric Quantization

In summary, if you are looking for a book that will cover the basics of symplectic manifolds and give you a bit more depth on the subject, Wisdom and Farr's "Functional Differential Geometry" may be a good choice.
Fgard
I am taking my bachelor in geometric quantization but I have no real experience in differential geometry ( a part of my project is to learn that). So I find myself in need of some good books that cover that the basics and a bit more in depth about symplectic manifolds.

If you have any recommendations that would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
A very interesting book, with a quite distinctive approach, is Sussman, Wisdom and Farr's "Functional Differential Geometry", also available free online at https://groups.csail.mit.edu/mac/users/gjs/6946/calculus-indexed.pdf

The different thing about this book is that it is supported by software examples throughout, which you can run on MIT-Scheme's "scmutils/mechanics" software to check your understanding.

I have just started it myself. You may find you need another text, too, with a more conventional approach, but this one is really fun. They have stated that a lot of their inspiration came from Spivak's approach in "Calculus on Manifolds", so this may be just what you want.

Incidentally, Sussman and Wisdom, with Mayer, have done another quite well-known book, "Structure and Interpretation of Classical Mechanics", which gives the same practical, unambiguous treatment to Lagrange, Hamilton and dynamics in general.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the tip. I will check out the book.

Hi Fgard,
Once you've had a chance to have a good look at it, I'd appreciate your opinion/feedback.
Like I said, it's quite an unconventional approach, so you may need to get your head around their style a bit, but really cool once you get going.